Champions are crowned on awards night!

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

By DJ Everett

It was 2 nights of celebration as the annual Magic Valley Speedway awards banquet took place at the Turf Club in Twin Falls.  This year’s event was held on Friday and Saturday nights.  We recognized all of our drivers with some receiving special awards and others receiving plaques for their higher finishes in the point standings in their respective classes including our 2020 champions!  Both nights we paid tribute to the late Chaz Groat.  On Saturday night, fellow midget drivers Devin Westover, Sid McElreath, Natalie Waters, River Merrill, and Cheyenne Merrill received Chaz’s second place award in the Brennan’s Carpet Midgets with Devin and Sid saying some kind words about Chaz.  A couple of drivers we would like to recognize are Cecil Miles receiving the UNOH award and Jon Quinton receiving the Nascar Hometracks Division 3 National Championship.  Congratulations to our class champions:

ICCU Modifieds – Eric Rhead (Idaho State Champion)

Project Filter Bombers – Craig McCann

Brennan’s Carpet Midgets – Natalie Waters

Cactus Petes Streets – Willie Dalton

Denny’s Minis – Jon Quinton

Valley Office Systems Hornets – Scott Gilligan

Quale’s Electronics Jr Stingers – Brayden Sweatfield (1st half)

      Angel Newberry (2nd half)

Ascend Staffing Double Deckers – Zach Rydalch & Brayden Sweatfield

The Northwest Tour Truck Series drivers and teams were also in attendance crowing John Newhouse as their 2020 champion. 

We would like to thank everyone that joined us on an enjoyable night!  Thank you to the Turf Club for their professional hospitality and thank you to our sponsors that were in attendance!  Stay tuned to the Magic Valley Speedway Facebook page and website for updates and the 2021 schedule!  Get those race cars ready!  The racing season is right around the corner!  We will see everyone in April!

Close Menu