Magic Valley Speedway            
Your Subtitle text

Pohlman dominate in season’s first victory

A full slate of racing Saturday night landed several drivers in Victory Lane collecting their first main event wins of the season at Magic Valley Speedway.

Jeff Pohlman captured his first victory of the year in the Mr. Gas Late Models Series after being lined up third in a field of eight contenders for the 40-lap main. A first-lap caution soon sent Kris McKean, who was lined up just ahead of Pohlman, to the rear of the field for the restart after contact with leader Jeff Wade.  By lap four Pohlman was out in front but as often the case, more cautions would test the leader’s tenacity in his quest for the win. Pohlman’s biggest challenge came with just 10 laps remaining when a restart put Bobby Latham III alongside him for the dash to the checkered flag. Taking the inside lane, Pohlman was able to dig in to quickly gain ground on his competitors, crossing the finish line 2.283 seconds ahead of Latham.

“The car was really hooked up tonight but the cautions were making me nervous,” Pohlman said. ‘I knew Bobby (Latham) was behind me but I saw him go to the outside on the last restart. Bobby is a great racer and I knew it was going to be tough, but we were able to roll the center between turns three and four a little bit better than he was and that’s how we were able to stay in front of him.”

Pohlman now leads the point standings by nine over Latham and TJ Woodhall.

Kris McKean had a good night in the Budweiser Super Stocks main event race capturing his first win of the season. McKean took control of the race at lap three and from there began to pull away from his closest rival, Allen Williams. Williams tried to reel in the speedy driver of the No. 7 car, but ran out of laps as the checkered flag flew at lap 35. Williams was followed by Casey Pehrson, Daniel Shirley and Jenna Quale.

First wins of the season were also collected by Project Filter Street Stocks drivers Paul Browne and John Newell. Browne held off a hard-charging Kendel Woll in the first main event race after leading the way from the pole position. In the second main Newell had to work hard for the win as Woll put pressure on his bumper throughout the final laps. The pair scrambled to the finish line, but Newell was able to hold on for the win crossing the line less than one-half second ahead of Woll. With the two close second place finishes and capturing the top qualifying time of the night, Woll stays on top of the standings leading Newell by 19 points.

Although not his first main event win of the year Doug ‘Tank’ Brownfield went to Victory Lane with the Quale’s Electronics Hornets after a slick move to get around leader Theresa Borlase and Chad Everett. Jr. Stingers driver Jason Quale won his third main of the year after a challenging 20-lap race. Tony Ackerland was the winner with the Pepsi Winged Sprint cars.


Mr. Gas Late Models:  1. Jeff Pohlman, 2. Bobby Latham III, 3. TJ Woodhall, 4. Bruce Quale, 5. Jeff Wade.

Budweiser Super Stocks:  1. Kris McKean, 2. Allen Williams, 3. Casey Pehrson, 4. Daniel Shirley, 5. Jenna Quale.

Project Filter Street Stocks (first main) 1. Paul Browne, 2. Kendel Woll, 3. John Newell, 4. Craig Nuthak, 5. Chase Carraway.

(second main)  1. John Newell, 2. Kendel Woll 3. Chase Carraway, 4. Paul Browne, 5. Craig Nuthak.

Quale’s Electronics Hornets:  1. Doug ‘Tank’ Brownfield, 2. Chad Everett, 3. Robbie Hyde, 4. Ben Hampton, 5. Theresa Borlase.

Quale’s Stingers:  1. Jason Quale, 2. Jay McDonald, 3. Holden Maughan, 4. Russell Dalton, 5. Triston Shirley.

Winged Sprints:  1. Tony Ackerland, 2. Don Kithcart, 3. Tyler Barrow, 4. Tim McCutchan