Magic Valley Speedway            
Your Subtitle text

08/28/10 News

                                                                Fowble closes in on championship 

    It all played right into his hands. Mr. Gas Late models driver Rick Fowble needed to have a good solid finish to maintain his lead in the points standings and with the main event win Saturday night at Magic Valley Speedway — he is now one step closer to the championship.

    The 50-lap main event race began with Mike Greco, who was second in the points standings behind Fowble, in the front row alongside Bruce Quale. At lap nine Jeff Pohlman had worked his way up to second and began to take on Greco for the lead.

    A caution two laps later involving Dan Pehrson and Norm Hatke set up a restart and Greco and Pohlman continued the fight for the front position. Soon, just as the pair approached turn four, contact was made and both cars sailed over the embankment.

    Pohlman would make it back on the track to take the next green flag, but Greco spent several laps in the pits making repairs. Fowble then took over the lead at lap 14, never giving up the position throughout the remainder of the 50-lap race. Kris McKean was Fowble’s closest competitor as the laps wound down, but McKean just could not reel him in to make any viable attempts at passing the steadfast Fowble.

    The win combined with the wreck involving Greco virtually sealed the deal on the championship for the driver of the No. 98 car. “It was an unfortunate circumstance for Mike,” Fowble said. “But we’ll take it. Then towards the end of the race we got through lap traffic well and were able to stay out ahead of Kris for the win.”

    With just one race remaining on the schedule, Greco now faces a 117 point deficit to Fowble in the standings. “It was just one of those deals,” Greco said of the encounter with Pohlman early in the race. “I tried to give him room. I guess maybe I could have given him more and we just kind of got wrecked up. It was just a bad deal on both sides.”

Travis Monett set the fast qualifying time of the night with a 14.869 second lap.

Pehrson gets first NAPA Street Stocks victory

Vincent Orr and Craig Nuthak battled side-by-side for the first half of the 25-lap main event race but at lap 13, Casey Pehrson made a stellar move to get around both drivers to take over the lead.

By lap 18 John Newell, points leader in the division, had his sights set on Pehrson but it was all for not as Pehrson dug in his heals to take the checkered flag 3.881 seconds ahead of Newell. Nuthak would finish third.

Homolka back in Victory lane

Quickly taking the lead in the main event race, Ray Homolka began trying to put as much asphalt between him and Todd Audet as he possibly could. After splitting lap traffic at lap 14, Homolka maintained his distance enough to capture the win 1.336 seconds ahead of Audet.

Mortensen captures Quale’s Electronics Hornets win

Jenna Quale and Brandon Mortensen fought for the lead from the start, but soon Quale experienced mechanical issues and was out of contention for the remainder of the main event race. Jeff Peck challenged Mortensen for the next 18 laps but Mortensen kept his ride out front despite pressure in the turns from Peck.

It was Mortensen’s first main event win of the season in the division.

Quale first in Quale’s Stingers

After getting a great jump on the restart of the main event race, Jason Quale led the way to the checkered flag which waved at lap 15. Doug Brownfield snaked his way into second by lap eight, but did not have enough laps to catch the fast moving Quale.

MVS Results:

Mr. Gas Late Models: 1. Rick Fowble, 2. Kris McKean, 3. Travis Monett, 4. Jeff Wade, 5. Bruce Quale.

NAPA Street Stocks: 1. Casey Pehrson, 2. John Newell, 3. Craig Nuthak, 4. Chase Carraway, 5. Kendel Woll.

Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks: 1. Ray Homolka, 2. Todd Audet, 3. Jerry Slocum, 4. Jake Bates, 5. JC Brookshire.

Quale’s Electronics Hornets: 1. Brandon Mortensen, 2. Jeff Peck, 3. Ty Garibay, 4. Andy Brennan, 5. Bob Gilligan.

Quale’s Jr. Stingers: 1. Jason Quale, 2. Doug Brownfield, 3. Brandan Greco, 4. Kristan Gillogly, 5. Russell Dalton.

Budweiser Boat Race of Destruction: Ben Hunt