Magic Valley Speedway            
Your Subtitle text

09/11/10 News

                                                Fowble completes trifecta at Magic Valley Speedway

    He took home Rookie of the Year honors, won the main event race and is the newest track champion in the Mr. Gas Late Models Series. Rick Fowble did it all Saturday night at Magic Valley Speedway.

    Fowble began the main event race mid-pack but took over the lead at lap 20 following a caution instigated by Jeff Pohlman and Dan Pehrson. Kris McKean, Mike Greco and Fowble were also involved in the skirmish, but McKean took the biggest hit and was out for the remainder of the race.

    Once the contest resumed, Fowble never relinquished the lead position and came through in the victor under a green-white checkered finish at lap 50. Pohlman and Pehrson found their way back towards the front in the end, finishing second and third respectively.

    “We struggled at the very beginning of the year and I thought it was going to be a long season,” Fowble said. “But we had been doing well ever since. I was hoping I could win this last race too, but we made some changes to the car and it was really a handful. I think Pohlman would have got me if it went a few more laps.”

    Greco finished ninth in the race but it was enough to wrap up the runner-up position in the standings, followed by McKean. “There was a lot of tension and stress going into tonight, but after Kris (McKean) had a broken spindle we figured we just had to finish the race to get second in the standings,” Greco said. “We had to keep going into the pits but we kept at it.”

Rice 2010 Maverik Intermountain Pro Trucks champion

    Jeff Pohlman rocketed to the lead at lap five leaving the rest of the field jockeying for position throughout the 30-lap main event race which ran caution free. At the finish line Dan Doan had battled his way to a second place finish with Drew Reitsma following in third.

    Jerry Rice, who only needed to start the main in order to secure the championship, wound up fourth while Johnny Pierre, one position behind Rice in the standings, finished fifth.

Hall wins battle, Newell the war with NAPA Street Stocks

    Craig Nuthak and Vincent Orr led the pack side-by-side for nine laps until James Hall maneuvered his way into the front-runner position. Hall held the lead for the remainder of the 25-lap main event race while John Newell, who had already secured his second championship in a row, settled in mid-pack.

    Nuthak held on to finish second while Kendel Woll made his way past Chase Carraway with two laps remaining for third.

Audet closes in on championship with win in Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks

    It wasn’t the night Ray Homolka hoped to have, tangling with his rival for the championship before even one lap was completed in the main event race.

    While Homolka exited to the pits for a new tire, Audet took off enroute to an unencumbered victory. With the win, Audet will take a 33-point advantage into next Saturday night’s championship battle.

Gillogly wins race, Brownfield championship with Quale’s Jr. Stingers

    It went down to the wire, but Doug “Tank” Brownfield’s second place finish behind race winner Kristan Gillogly was enough to capture the 2010 title.

    After Russell Dalton finessed his way around Brownfield with just four laps remaining in the main event race, an encounter with Brandan Greco parked Dalton the infield tires with one lap to go. Brownfield then went on for the runner-up spot in the race while locking up the championship, finishing ahead of Dalton by just five points in the final standings.