Magic Valley Speedway            
Your Subtitle text

09/17/11 Story

Pohlman crowned feature division champion at MVS

By Linda Brittsan 

He just won the local track and state championships, what is he going to do now?


 No, he’s not going to Disney World, but he is going to Charlotte, North Carolina.

By winning the 2011 Magic Valley Speedway and State of Idaho feature division titles Jeff Pohlman will soon be on his way to Charlotte to be honored at the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series champion’s banquet in December.

 “It’s pretty surreal,” Pohlman said. “We didn’t really have any expectations at the beginning of the season but now we’re going to the champion’s banquet to represent Idaho.” Pohlman won eight main event races during the season stringing several together late in the year.

 “Everything just kind of worked out this year in our favor,” he added. “Those last four wins just really propelled us in the points and was a major benefit to us. The crew did an awesome job with this car – it was pretty much flawless all year.”

The driver of the No. 24 car celebrated his championship Saturday night in a shower of champagne after finishing second to Bobby Latham III in the final main event race of the season.  Latham led all but three of the 40 laps en route to the win. TJ Woodhall, embroiled in a battle with Kris McKean for second in the final standings finished fourth in the race just behind McKean. McKean’s advantage was just enough to take away the position from Woodhall in the final standings by a single point.

Driving for the Budweiser Super Stocks McKean not only won the 35-lap main event race, he also embraced his third championship title in a row in the series.

 “Every championship means something and it feels good to be out here and to do it again – to say ‘Hey I’m the best,’” McKean said.  “But it’s not a one-man thing - we had the crew to get it done this year.”  In the battle for second in the final points standings Daniel Shirley was able to stay just enough ahead of rival Casey Pehrson to lock up the position.

In other Whelen All-American Weekly Racing Series action Todd Audet celebrated both an added main event win and another championship with the Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks division. Project Filter Street Stocks driver Kendel Woll also finished off a stellar season by winning the main and adding a championship title to his MVS racing career.

Quale’s Electronics Hornets driver Chad Everett never gave up the lead on the road to victory in the main event race but it was Robbie Hyde who collected the championship honors in the division; his first track title. Brenden  Radabaugh  put together his first victory of the season after  taking over the lead at lap nine in the Quale’s Jr. Stingers’ main event race but KC Gillogly was still able to celebrate her first track championship after a hard-fought season in the division.

Intermountain Pro Trucks driver Jerry Rice added an exclamation point to his dream season with an impressive main event win before accepting his second championship title in a row. Starting near the rear of the field of 16 trucks, Rice motored his way through traffic to take the lead at lap 37. Once out front, Rice gained ground over the rest of the field to cross the finish line 2.594 seconds ahead of runner-up in the 50-lap race Drew Reitsma.

En route to the championship, Rice collected five wins this season with three of them coming at MVS.

“It’s been a great year,” Rice said. “But winning here at Magic Valley has been the highlight.”


RACE RESULTS of 9-17-11:

Mr. Gas Late Models:  1. Bobby Latham III, 2. Jeff Pohlman, 3. Kris McKean, 4. TJ Woodhall, 5. Tony Ackerland.

Budweiser Super Stocks:  1. Kris McKean, 2. Jerry McKean, 3. Daniel Shirley, 4. Casey Pehrson, 5. Willie Dalton.

Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks:  1. Todd Audet, 2. Devon Colson, 3. Jerry Slocum, 4. Mike Audet.

Project Filter Street Stocks:  1. Kendel Woll, 2. Paul Browne, 3. Brandon Thomas, 4. Craig Nuthak, 5. John Newell.

Quale’s Electronics Hornets:  1. Chad Everett, 2. Ben Hampton, 3. Colton Nelson, 4. Robbie Hyde, 5. Mitchell Pehrson.

Quale’s Jr. Stingers:  1. Brenden Radabaugh, 2. Hailey Douglas, 3. Russell Dalton, 4. Justice Coates, 5. Jay McDonald.

Intermountain Pro Trucks:  1. Jerry Rice, 2. Drew Reitsma, 3. John Newhouse, 4. Dan Doan, 5. Johnny Pierre.

Final Points Standings:

Mr. Gas Late Models:  1. Jeff Pohlman 363, 2. Kris McKean 282, 3. TJ Woodhall 281, 4. Bobby Latham III 265, 5. Jeff Wade 124.

Budweiser Super Stocks:  1. Kris McKean 373, 2. Daniel Shirley 329, 3. Casey Pehrson 325, 4. Allen William 243, 5. Willie Dalton 202.

Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks:  1. Todd Audet 182, 2. Jerry Slocum 121, 3. Devon Colson 89, 4. Robbie Hyde 73, 5. JC Brookshire 23.

Project Filter Street Stocks:  1. Kendel Woll 313, 2. John Newell  243, 3. Paul Browne 226, 4. Craig Nuthak 189, 5. Chase Carraway 182.

Quale’s Electronics Hornets:  1. Robbie Hyde 125, 2. Chad Everett 99, 3. Mitchell Pehrson 88, 4. Ben Hampton 80, 5. (tie) Doug Brownfield and Toef Leija 44.

Quale’s Jr. Stingers:  1. KC Gillogly 124, 2. Brenden Radabaugh 117, 3. Russell Dalton 106, 4. Jay McDonald 100, 5. Justice Coates 84.