Magic Valley Speedway            
Your Subtitle text

4/17/2010 News

After taking a season off, Mike Greco returned to Magic Valley Speedway with a dramatic victory in the Mr. Gas Late Models main event Saturday night.

Bruce Quale led from the opening lap, but Greco began reeling him in at lap 35. Meanwhile, Steve Jones, Eddy McKean and Jeff Pohlman battled for third several lengths behind. With five laps remaining in the 50-lap race, Greco began to make his move, attempting the high-side pass. With just two laps to the checkered flag, Quale bobbled rounding turn four leaving the door open for Greco and the victory.

“I was watching what line Bruce (Quale) was running, and his car kind-of washed up on one corner, but on the other he was really good,” Greco said. “Then I got a couple of good runs on him with five to go, and later he slid out. My spotter told me just to be patient, and I had it.”

Quale said that his breaks started “going squishy” after 35 laps and never felt good after.

“When (Greco) got beside me in the corner, they went almost to the floor,” Quale said. “I think the back must have grabbed before the front because when it slowed down it turned her sideways.”

Steve Jones took third in the race, followed by Eddy McKean and Kris McKean, the fastest qualifier of the night who got around Pohlman in the final laps.

Opening night at the speedway also brought out the Intermountain Pro Trucks to compete in a 30-lap main event race. Scott Luttmer led for nine of the first ten laps then Jerry Rice took over and took off. By the halfway mark Rice had assumed a 10-truck length lead over a freight train consisting of Luttmer, Drew Reitsma, Jeff Pohlman and Johnny Pierre.

After Luttmer got loose in turn four at lap 29, the race was over, and Rice put an end to his absence from the winner’s circle at MVS.

In the NAPA Street Stocks main event race, John Hoogendoorn passed leader Chase Carraway at lap 14, and despite Carraway’s best efforts for redemption, Hoogendoorn went on to the win in the 25-lap main event race.

Other opening night main event winners were 2009 champion Ray Homolka with the Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks and Ty Garibay, who was able to hold off Jenna Quale for the win in the Quale’s Electronics Hornets. Jason Quale, 12, came through with a victory in his debut race in the Stingers division.

Magic Valley Speedway results

Mr. Gas Late Models: 1. Mile Greco, 2. Bruce Quale, 3. Steve Jones, 4. Eddy McKean, 5. Kris McKean.

Intermountain Pro Trucks: 1. Jerry Rice, 2. Jeff Pohlman, 3. Johnny Pierre, 4. Kent Jensen, 5. Mathew Stevens.

NAPA Street Stocks: 1. John Hoogendoorn, 2. Chase Carraway, 3. Jim Shirley, 4. John Newell, 5. Rob Roche.

Brennan’s Carpet Pony Stocks: 1. Ray Homolka, 2. Jerry Slocum, 3. JC Brookshire.

Quale’s Electronics Hornets: 1. Ty Garibay, 2. Jenna Quale, 3. Bob Gilligan, 4. Andy Brennan, 5. JB Rodgers.

Quale’s Electronics Jr. Stingers: 1. Jason Quale